Please contact Fr Ian if you wish to visit
St John's for Sunday worship at 8.45am.
History of Our Church
The first church service in Malmsbury was held in what was Mr French's store when the Rev'd James Sullivan was then Rector of Kyneton. In 1856 Mr Joseph was engaged as a contractor and the bluestone Schoolroom quarried at Malmsbury was opened by Mr Barton on 12 April 1857. It was used on Sundays and evenings for church purposes and on weekdays as a denominational school.
The schoolroom at Malmsbury became too small for the growing congregation so when Bishop Perry visited Malmsbury on 13 October 1859, he discussed with parishioners ways and means of erecting a suitable church. On 21 October 1861 Mr Adamson turned the first sod for the foundations. On 9 November 1861 Bishop Perry laid the foundation stone*. Fives years after the laying of the foundation stone, and after overcoming many difficulties, the picturesque St John's Malmsbury was dedicated and opened by Bishop Perry on 28 January 1866. The total cost was £3,751. With over 300 people attending the event.
From 'A History of St John's Church Malmsbury'
by The Rev'd Keith Cole, former Bendigo Diocesan Archivist, 2001.
*Yet to be rediscovered.
Top: Slide Show of St John's 150th. Celebrated on Easter Eve 2016.
Above: St John's Malmsbury 1980. Creator: Stanley Young.